Students 15 and 16 years old by South Carolina state law have to complete a driver training course through a driving school before being able to take a road test to get the restricted license.
If you have not completed a course or have only done a partial course at the high school, you will need
to do our teen course of 8hrs class (held on a Saturday) and 6hrs driving.
Please select a Saturday class to attend to get this started
There are no sign ups or enrolling before the day of the class at the class. Most Saturdays we host 4 or 5
different class locations with different start and end times.
Cost is $225 in cash
Once the student is enrolled in the class we will assign the student to a local instructor to schedule the
driving lessons at a time convenient to the student and parents. Driving is done in two 3hr lessons,
pickup and drop off at home or school. Cost is $70 cash for each of these 3hr lessons.
Requirements for the road test are:
- A valid (not expired) South Carolina Permit.
- That you have held a permit for at least 6 months.
- Closed shoes.
- A parent with you to sign the documents for the test.
- $60 testing fee in cash.
$60 cash if you are a student that has trained with our school
$75 if you have not trained with our school.
To train or test with a driving school you must have a valid (not expired) South Carolina permit (not any other state or international or another country).
The permit must show that you have held the permit for a least 6 months (180 days)
If this is your 2nd or 3rd permit, please bring a copy of your previous permit with you.
If you have just had your permit issued and the permit is less than 6 months old, but the dmv has said you can test with that permit, please bring in your permit to our office in lyman, monday to friday 9am to 5pm. We will submit it to the dmv for PRE-APPROVAL for testing. There is a $20 fee for pre-approval.
The test results will be given to you in a sealed green envelope. Take this to any SCDMV office where they will eye test you and take your picture before issuing your license.
For testing options:
You can test at the end of your 2nd driving lesson with the instructor that trained you.